REFLECTIONS

REFLECTIONS

I treasure this quotation from Dr. Charles Swindoll, the renowned pastor, writer and president of Dallas Theological Seminary: “The longer I live, the more I realize the impact of attitude on life.  Attitude to me is more important than facts.  It is more important than the past, than education, than wealth, than circumstances, than failures, than successes, than what others think or say or do.  It is more important than appearance, giftedness, or skill.  It will make or break a company … a church … a home.  The remarkable thing is we have a choice everyday regarding the attitude we will embrace for that day.  We cannot change the inevitable.  The only thing we can do is play on the one string we have, and that is our attitude.  I am convinced that life is 10% what happens to me and 90% how I react to it.  And so it is with you.  We are in charge of our attitudes.”

I encourage you to reflect upon and respond to the following statements about attitude: Lord, please forgive me for the poor attitude I have often displayed. Starting today, I choose:

  • To start acting and talking like God is in control.
  • To speak positively about others.
  • To let God control my thoughts and imagination.
  • To be a thankful person.
  • To quickly forgive.
  • To be a problem solver and not a whiner.
  • And, to leave every person I meet and each place I go better because of Christ in me.

Stu Johnson is the Executive Administrator for Grace International Churches and Ministries, Inc. Stu has extensive ministry experience as a conference speaker, youth pastor, college and career pastor, associate pastor, senior pastor, and district superintendent.  He was also an Air Force officer for 30 years, retiring in 1999 as a Colonel.  He has led organizations of 5 to 6,000 people.  He has been married to Debbe for over 48 years and has 2 children, Andrew, a Vice Principal and Lisa, a medical doctor.

Leave a comment